Nawroz and Jli Kurdi (3 months ago)

My Reading Class, from left to right, starting at the bottom:  Dilshad,

My Reading Class, from left to right, starting at the bottom: Aram, Dilshad, Alan Pari, and Avan.  Middle row, starting left, Huda, Zana, Aras, Sonia, me, Nasrat, Avin and Tahir.  Back row:  Hemn, Abdullah, Mohammed.

Yep, another after-the-fact posting.  Life was busy…trying to catch up on recording some of my activities now:).

Nawroz is the Kurdish New Year and is held on the 1st day of spring; for anyone interested in learning a bit more about it, here’s a link, written by a Kurd (in Canada, I think, by the website address).   http://ion.uwinnipeg.ca/~rvakili/Kurdistan.html

On this day, and on some of the days before and after, all the Kurds wear their “jli Kurdi”,  (Kurdish clothing).  For the women, especially, it means bright, usually shiny, drapy (apparently not an actual word but I like it) fabrics that remind me of medieval, King Arthur’s court kind of garb.  The girls in this class all got together and, after eyeing me carefully, decided that I was closest in size to Avan and so Avan brought me one of her outfits.  They’re reasonably comfortable actually; underneath all the shiny frou frou, you wear baggy – but still shiny – pantaloons for modesty and they’re pretty comfy too.  Most of the Kurdish women wear some sort of fancy high-heeled sandal but those are not for this one!  I wore my dumpy old brown shoes that I wore all winter but, really, who knew?  Just me and I’m certainly no fashionista who cares about such things.

Me with Kosar

Me with Kosar: (Scholarship student and Art teacher at the university).

Heidi, Mohammed and me

Heidi, Mohammed and me (Mohammed is from Harama and this is the traditional style for the men in his village).

 

 

Then, in the morning, I’d taught 3 sections of Level 3 Grammar.  First, Section 4…

Section 4 group shot:

Section 4 group shot – from left: Karzan, Omer, Sarbast, Havel, me, Bestoon, Zherou, Halo and Diyar.  Only 2 in jli Kurdi! 

Zherou and Haval with me...looking uncharacteristically serious.

Zherou and Haval with me…looking uncharacteristically serious.

And then, from Section 2, 4 people wore jli Kurdi…

Section 2 - left to right: Beri, Dalya, Salahadin, me and Soz

Section 2 – left to right: Beri, Dalya, Salahadin, me and Soz

From Section 6,  a pretty decent number wore jli Kurdi…

Section 6 - left to right

Section 6 – left to right:  Khanda, Hemn, Harmn, Abdulghafer, me Kamal, Khalid, Ahmed Karim and Rangin (sporting a good-sized baby bump)

And for the actual Nawroz celebrations, Jill (then my roommate) and I went down to Salem Street where the action all was.  The local Kurds get all dressed up in new jli Kurdi and parade themselves up and down Salem St.  There are spontaneous groups of dancers everywhere, there was one location at least that we saw where a program of some formal dancing was happening and I think there was some sort of official marking of the day but, if so, we missed it.  The whole street turns into a sort of midway with lots of street food available, various local sweets and just a general sense of celebration.

IMG_1163

Salem Street at Nawroz

Salem Street at Nawroz

Jill holds up a sticky sweet on a stick that a vendor had given us to try.

Jill holds up a sticky sweet on a stick that a vendor had given us to try.

IMG_1166

And, as we're wending our way down Salem St., we spy Ari (in the middle in white) who is a student of both of ours.

And, as we’re wending our way down Salem St., we spy Ari (in the middle in white) who is a student of both of ours.

IMG_1226

 

IMG_1190IMG_1194

The future of Kurdistan :)

Aaaaaand….the future of Kurdistan 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About maurdian

I am a nomadic ESL teacher who, not surprisingly, travels and teaches English, largely at the same time.
This entry was posted in Iraq Diary, Kurdistan, Nawroz, travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Nawroz and Jli Kurdi (3 months ago)

  1. Cheryl says:

    You look like a medieval princess. Really enjoying your blogs and it is wonderful seeing how happy
    you are. Miss you

  2. Maria says:

    Too awesome! You look so beautiful in your Narwoz dress! I wonder how it would go over here in Canada for New Year’s.

  3. CJCJ says:

    Great coverage, great pics. I agree with Maria. Love the ring of flowers in your hair, too.

  4. Joan Cahill says:

    I agree with Maria’s comment, you look terrific… I love this tradition of beautiful clothes,… the hot pink, and gorgeous pattern looks perfect for you… your friends knew what they were up to for sure. Thanks so much for sharing your experiences, it’s wonderful to see.

  5. wworthington says:

    You never cease to inspire me, dear Maureen. Everything you write just serves to
    remind me of what a wonderful woman you are and why I love you like I do,

Leave a Reply

