Random Thoughts, Happenings and Photos of them.

Time for an update on the blog, finally moved to action by a pledge I made with #2 (in birth order only) daughter who is the Pledgemeister (or Pledgemistress?) extraordinaire!  There, the randomness begins, having now mucked mildly – and randomly – about with German and French, I’ll proceed to post some photos of no particular pattern and in no particular, but probably English, language.

We’ll start with a shot of one of my students, Darko, playing the flute in grammar class.  I think he looks sort of as though he belongs more in the Kurdish mountains, meandering happily, with children following behind.  Anyway, all whimsy aside, he plays exquisitely.

DarkoOnFlute

Next, a shot of me in front of the view taken from the top of the highest mountain in Sulimaini with the view behind.  Not so very clear but the camera isn’t the best and I don’t understand settings so…there you go.

IMG_1456

A sign advertising a bar and restaurant near the bazaar with this odd  image of a woman in lust with a Tuborg.  I mean….what the heck?!

Oh Tuborg...I want you so... ?

Oh Tuborg…I want you so… ?

Next, some images from a trip to Chavy Land, a brand new amusement park / picnic grounds place.  Really nicely done with dancing fountains, lots and lots of green space for families to spread out blankets and have a picnic, the biggest ferris wheel in the Middle East (although I think it may also be the slowest as when we went on, it never got past the load-people-on-and-off stage), lots of other rides, a gondola to the top of the mountain, a 5D cinema, a scary house and more.

Zherou in front of The Slemani Eye, biggest ferris wheel in the Middle East.

Zherou in front of The Slemani Eye, biggest ferris wheel in the Middle East.

Me with two passing children

Me with two passing children who obligingly joined me in the photo

Just a really adorable little girl whose parents allowed me to take her photo.  Just a little butterball of a baby girl and I wanted to cuddle her, but restrained myself.

Adorable little Kurdish GirlLooking up at the Slemani Eye before getting on.

IMG_1474And, from today, a spontaneous lunch invitation from one of my grammar classes to go to lunch.  A grilled fish specialty restaurant; it was truly delicious and a lot of fun; they’re a lovely group and we actually seem to laugh our way through most of our grammar classes which is, kind of amazing:)

My shot of the fish "before"

My “before” shot of the grilled fish I shared with one of the students, Khalid.

And the “after” shot once we’d decimated it!

"After" shot of fish

“After” shot of fish

Two of my students, Bestun and Ismael.

Bestun and Ismael

Bestun and Ismael

From right to left:  Dara, Illham, Dalya and Beri

From right to left: Dara, Illham, Dalya, Beri and Salahadin

From left, going down:  Khalid, me, Bahez, Zanyar and Snwr.  Going directly across:  Beri, Dalya, Illham, Bestun and Ismael.

From left, going down: Khalid, me, Bahez, Zanyar and Snwr. Going directly across: Beri, Dalya, Illham, Bestun and Ismael.

IMG_1487Hmmmm, the caption didn’t work:  this is Dara and me goofing around.

And, one more…

IMG_1495

From bottom left: Beri, Dalya, Ilham, Dara and Ismael.  At the head of the table is Snwr and then going from the top down, Salahadin (aka “The Comedian”, Bahez, Khalid and Zanyar.

And that’s all for now folks!  Beddy-bye time for our little blogger who has completed her pledge but (oh the shame!) not yet done her lesson-planning for tomorrow.

About maurdian

I am a nomadic ESL teacher who, not surprisingly, travels and teaches English, largely at the same time.
This entry was posted in Iraq Diary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

