Bazaar!

From a small footbridge above

From a small footbridge above

 

An old Kurdish man browsing

An old Kurdish man browsing

Or, BUHZ-ah, as my students pronounce it and, really, they oughta know.  The bazaar here is the real McCoy; it’s where the local people go to buy absolutely anything they need.  From clothes to produce to electronics to live goats, chickens, carpets, cheap books from Iran…absolutely anything!  There’s little need to ever go anywhere else unless you want to.  Modern style malls are not really to be found here in Suli, although there are a few small ones.  In Erbil (also spelled Arbil and Irbil) there are malls and all the modern comforts, if that’s what you want.  Here, there are some big supermarkets and sometimes I go there, for speed and convenience but for atmosphere and fun, most weekends I go to the bazaar.  Here are just a few things you can shop for.

pigeons for sale

pigeons for sale

Walnuts are a staple here; they are grown nearby, are plentiful and delicious!

Walnuts are a staple here; they are grown nearby, are plentiful and delicious!

My roommate, Jill, trying to figure out what things are (all labeled in Kurdish).

My roommate, Jill, trying to figure out what things are (all labeled in Kurdish).

Outside the mosque in the bazaar, men sit with jackhammers, shoe shine kits and various things

Outside the mosque in the bazaar, men sit with jackhammers, shoe shine kits and various things

I know it’s a bad shot with the pole in the middle but I was trying to be discreet.

IMG_0983

 

This little girl is eyeing up the fancy dresse, along with the whole of Kurdistan; Nawroz (Kurdish New Year) is coming up and everyone needs (fancy and shiny for girls) new clothes.

This little girl is eyeing up the fancy dresses, along with the whole of Kurdistan; Nawroz (Kurdish New Year) is coming up and everyone needs (fancy and shiny for girls) new clothes.

Not sure what she's doing here but it's cute!

Not sure what she’s doing here but it’s cute!

f

I was taking a photo of this little manequin, just for the outfit and a young boy from inside the shop came out...

I was taking a photo of this little mannequin, just for the outfit and a young boy from inside the shop came out…

He stopped by the mannequin, posed and nodded.

He stopped by the mannequin, posed and nodded.

Old style oven for baking bread.

Old style oven for baking bread.

IMG_1004

Jill shopping for fresh fish.

Jill shopping for fresh fish.

These carts fill the streets outside.

These carts fill the streets outside.

Cart

Bedding

Bedding

Stuff.  Guy stuff.

Stuff. Guy stuff.

More stuff.  Kitchen stuff and... I don't know stuff.

More stuff. Kitchen stuff and… I don’t know stuff.

The I-don't-even-know-how-the-vendor-gets-to-his-stuff place.

The I-don’t-even-know-how-the-vendor-gets-to-his-stuff place.

Teapots and...big colourful dice?

Teapots and…big colourful dice?

Jody buying a carpet and me, thinking seriously about it.

Jody buying a carpet and me, thinking seriously about it.

 

And finally, we stop for a glass of tea, although I neglected to get any of the glasses in the shot.  The mug you see is not typical.  Strong, black and sweet - that's how they drink it.  25 cents a glass.

And finally, we stop for a glass of tea, although I neglected to get any of the glasses in the shot. The mug you see is not typical. Strong, black and sweet – that’s how they drink it. 25 cents a glass.

And this is just a little tiny sampling of the bazaar.  Every time I go I discover a new corner or lane and the discovery continues!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About maurdian

I am a nomadic ESL teacher who, not surprisingly, travels and teaches English, largely at the same time.
This entry was posted in bazaar, discovery, Iraq Diary, Iraq. Teaching abroad bazaar shopping, Kurdistan, Nawroz, tea, travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bazaar!

  1. ourmerrybee says:

    You need to set the time stamp on your camera! It looks like these were all taken 3 years ago… Those shops with so much stuff you can’t figure out how they get to the merchandise remind me of Sana’a! They had little stepping stones set up, so they could, cat-like, navigate their way to the item you wanted.

  2. Yes, I was thinking that too but you know how I am about stuff like that. Don’t have time for the learning curve:)

    I’d been thinking the same thing – about Sana’a! It’s the only other place in the middle east that I’ve been to where the bazaar/souk is still used authentically, as the main source of buying goods. And, like Sana’a, you very rarely see tourists here, or even non-locals (although a few more here). My students buy everything there, only very rarely going to a supermarket or other type of shop.

  3. theponderer1 says:

    I like the “I don’t know” stuff. And the cart of lemons.

  4. I’ll see if I can’t pick you up some of the former then:)

    • Kumiko Fujinami says:

      Maureen! Since I have lost touch with you, I often thought of you, and wondered how you were doing, and where you were. I am really glad that you seemed be well and still doing your things。I am going to Victoria in May and so hoped I might be able to see you there. Anyway, thank you for sending me this.

  5. maurdian says:

    Hi Kumiko, Thank you so much for leaving a note here; I’m really happy to hear from you! Yes, I’m doing well and really enjoying my students and learning a bit about the culture.

    Most unfortunately, I won’t be in Victoria in May as this contract doesn’t end until July so I won’t be able to take advantage of your visit, which is disappointing. I will send you a private message as well but thanks again for commenting here:)

Leave a Reply

